Twenty-Nine Arkansans draw elk hunting permits – Outdoor News Daily


JASPER – Twenty-nine Arkansans will have the hunt of a lifetime this fall as they chase elk on public land in The Natural State. Their names were chosen during the 22nd Annual Buffalo River Elk Festival in Jasper Saturday.

Representatives from the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission oversaw the drawings for this year’s elk hunt. Permits were drawn from a squirrel cage in front of an anxious crowd throughout the day.

Trey Reid, emcee for the drawings and assistant chief of the AGFC’s Communications Division said the event was full of fun and excitement over Arkansas’s largest big game animal.

“It was a great weekend to celebrate the Arkansas elk herd,” Reid said. “We met Arkansans from every corner of the state, and they were all excited and eager to hear their names called during the permit drawings throughout the day.

“It was a great crowd this year. This is my 12th elk festival to serve as emcee of the permit drawings, and it’s one of my favorite weekends of the year. The friendly folks of Newton County and Jasper always welcome visitors with open arms and warm smiles.”

Twenty-six of the permits were drawn from the 3,812 applications submitted online in May. Three other permits were selected from 680 applications submitted on site during the festival. Winners of the three on-site permits had to be present to win during the final drawing of the festival.

Hunters are allowed to choose their weapons from archery, including crossbows, muzzleloaders, modern rifles, modern shotguns and handguns.

All public land hunts occur on the Buffalo National River, Gene Rush Wildlife Management Area and Bearcat Hollow Wildlife Management Area. Hunters are assigned to specific zones within these public lands. Public land permit holders are required to attend an orientation before the hunt and will be notified of the time and location.

Arkansas 2019 elk hunt permit winners:

Oct. 7-11

Zone 1 Either Sex (onsite draw) — Colten Flowers, Hasty

Zone 1 Antlerless — Ryan Harris, Benton

Zone 2 Antlerless (onsite draw) — Derek Cornett, Harrison

Zone 3 Antlerless (onsite draw) — Billy Burleson, Lead Hill

Zone 4 Antlerless — Dustin Easterly, Benton

Oct. 26-Nov. Youth Hunts

Zone 2 Either Sex – Luke Schluterman, Conway

Zone 3 Youth Either Sex — Joseph Ensminger, Brinkley

Oct. 28-Nov. 1

Zone 1 Either Sex — William Wood, Clarksville

Zone 1 Antlerless — Richard Blount, Pocahontas

Zone 1 Antlerless — Nicholas Adams, Fort Smith

Zone 2 Either Sex — Skylar Litaker, Searcy

Zone 2 Antlerless — Timothy Berkley, Little Rock

Zone 2 Antlerless — Raymond Baker, Pine Bluff

Zone 2 Antlerless — Adam Dobbs, Hoxie

Zone 2 Antlerless — Justin Simmering, Rogers

Zone 2 Antlerless — Kaitlyn Lowe, Conway

Zone 3 Either Sex — Gabriel Gibbany, Harrison

Zone 3 Antlerless — Charles Davis, Greenbrier

Zone 3 Antlerless — Brandon Futch, Bauxite

Zone 3 Antlerless — Anthony Powers,Shirley

Zone 3 Antlerless — Kara Yoder, Harrison

Zone 3 Antlerless — Robert Meek, Greenbrier

Zone 4 Either Sex — Richard Eden, Horatio

Zone 4 Either Sex — Clyde Eslick, Sheridan

Zone 4 Antlerless — Vernon McNully, Austin

Zone 4 Antlerless — Hunter Cowell, Lamar

Zone 4 Antlerless — Jimmy Rodgers, Flippin

Zone 4 Antlerless — Mike Duncan, Fayetteville

Zone 4 Antlerless — Michael Feliz, North Little Rock


Source link